Do I enjoy being “triggered”?

I really need to take a step back and reevaluate why I feel the need to get “triggered” when I see/read/talk about something. Why do I even feel the need to respond to it? Most of the time I do not get that feeling when I just read a plain discussion, but when I see statements made out of pure ignorance, wrong facts or just plain rudeness, I feel the urge to respond back in a very polite but harsh way. Why do I do it? Why can’t I just let it go and let some other “social justice“-warrior take my place and lecture people at the wrongs in their statements?

Against friends when they say things that I do not agree with I snap at them, snap as in politely tell them to not and “here is 100 reasons to why you should reconsider your opinion”, but when strangers do it I have to go all out and call them out on their bullshit quite often. Why?

  • Is it because I get a sense of superiority? No, I can’t say I get that kind of emotion.
  • Is it because I want to show them my knowledge? No, they have that kind of knowledge as well, just that they haven’t thought about it in that way or they are just stupid – simply speaking.
  • Is it because I am an arrogant person that needs to shove my opinion on others? No, I rather debate both options in hope of making the views and opinions of me and someone else go in a better direction.
  • Is it because I want to be as politically correct as possible? I have my flaws, but I am trying to better myself as a person generally.

I think it is probably because with an official (on websites, in public etc) discussion or a debate you can change the views and thoughtpattern of many people and with that you can change a lot of things that are wrong with our society and living standards structure.

I know my personal “triggers” better than anyone else, and I should try and avoid them to the fullest of my capabilities, but they sneak up on me quite often. Through family and friends on Facebook, through reading blogs or articles or just general talk between friends and strangers. I start reading things that peak my interest and then it is just a lost cause if any of those triggers are in there.

I know myself that I get triggered a lot by people discussing LGBTQ matters, I really am fed up with bigotry. Racism, hate against feminism and feministic hate against men, vegan matters (mostly meat eaters hurling insults and really bad research on facts that twists my insides into a raging bowl of “here have real facts” anger), people actually contacting Michelle about her being transgender and not only asking rude questions but also portraying their homophobic and transphobic views on her without any regard of her feelings or that she is also just a human like them… all these triggers me very hard. But something else mixed into it today which I did not know was something I had strong opinions on surfaced…

Latest one that triggered me is the whole pro-life arguement… for me there is no middle. There is also no pro-life, people are pro-birth. As soon as the baby plops out they do not care for it anymore, which is shown in many ways with how they argue about it being murder and selfish. I remember posting an old image about it before, I even looked it up and will post again in the end. It sums up everything that is wrong with the whole pro-life arguement and why it is stupid to support it.

3cb83-abqmwwq_700b_v1

So bottom line of this post… yeah… I argue and get “triggered” a lot. Because I am a human being with strong opinions. I know myself that I might be wrong sometimes but I can admit to it when I am wrong. I do a ton of research before I even start discussing anything that my interest is peaked in, to be able to have a discussion that might change someone’s opinion or life view in the end. And help me better my own.

I guess that I mean that if I disagree with something people will know.

Leave a Reply

