Vegan Food!

Even though I am in quite a ditch mentally and emotionally I can still make proper posts and why not about food?! Food is yummy in general and when I went vegan I broadened the food intake for myself, I have enjoyed so many new dishes! I learned new things about myself such as I love steamed vegetables, I also know I do not like avocado (bought one because we were gonna bake avocado milkfree chocolate balls, turned out somewhat soggy and not great) etc. I will post three vegan/vegetarian recipes below of what food Michie and I have been eating for a couple of days (they are very tasty too):

20160420_190818

Wok with noodles, vegetables, mushrooms and ketjap sesame sauce.

Veggies used: leek, champignons, chestnut mushrooms, red onion and an apple to add a bit of chew. I got all the mushrooms because Michie does not like mushies.

Ingredients
wok noodles, champignons (normal and mushroom), leek, red onion, apple, ketjap sesam sauce (if non vegan, do not bother checking labels).

  • Boil noodles on the side of your wokpan.
  • Throw the vegetables into the wokpan and stir around so they do not burn, no need for olive oil.
  • When the vegetables have reached the level of mushie/crunchiness you desire add the sauce and noodles (if done) and mix in the pan.

Teriyaki sauce go really well with this too, slightly better even, any kind of woksauce would do the trick really.

*oyster anything can kill Michelle which helps with staying vegan for me and vegetarian for her.

Potatoes, steamed vegetables and gardenspice-sauce.

Broccoli, cauliflower and carrots make great steamed vegetables, it tastes amazing. The sauce is vegan, most sauce companies go that direction, like Knorr. No milkpowder, milkeggwhites etc. You can do the sauce by hand, but we are pretty lazy people. Potatoes were boiled perfectly, not too long and not too short. This is a dish I never get tired of. Mmmmmm, cauliflower is love. Two images because Michelle usually present her food better than I do, at least when it comes to potatoes (I mash mine instantly).

Ingredients
Potatoes, broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, gardenherbs sauce (again, no need to check label if not vegan).

  • Boil poatoes.
  • Add vegetables to a pan, fill half with water and let it boil so steam starts building up (10min boiltime), if water dissipates, add more in case it isn’t time yet.
  • When the vegetables are done, start with the sauce, don’t follow the instructions 100% – sauce always fail if you follow their package instruction, instead tweak the instructions into your liking, and add more water if you find the sauce too thick and if too thin: let it stand for a bit longer.
  • At this point, potatoes should be done! Enjoy your dinner.

Easy to make and wonderful for your tastebuds.

20160422_173549

Risotto with sundried tomatoes, olives, green beans, scallions, garlic, apple, carrots and sajoer boontjes sauce.

I loved this dish, it was really tasty. The apple neutralized some of the spices from the sauce, so it was very easy on my stomach (I have a really bad case of not being able to eat spicy food because of my stomach not handling it well). We had a ton of garlic in it, because we both like garlic a lot. I just recently started eating grean beans, never liked them as a child but they are really good now. Plate got a bit dirty and isn’t as presentable as the rest, but eh, it is all washed off afterwards anyway!

Ingredients
Risotto rice, olives, sundried tomatoes, carrots, grean beans, sajoer boontjes sauce, apple, garlic, scallion.

  • Start cooking the risotto rice, we had a package and just followed the instructions, but added stuff we liked, such as drinkbouillon (garden herbs) instead of chicken broth and instead of a glass of wine (completely forgot to take it up from the fridge downstairs) we used water. You gotta add the bouillon step by step, you notice it dissipate, you add more, it dissipates, you add more etc until you do not have any bouillon left, then it is just let the water sipper away and the risotto rice is done.
  • The carrots were already in the package, just like the olives and the sundried tomato taste, you can add these on your own if you only buy risotto rice but chop them well so they are not interfering with the texture of the risotto.
  • Boil the grean beans before putting it into a wokpan. When they are boiled to your satisfaction (we like them a bit chewy still) you put it into a wokpan, add garlic (we used three cloves and just chopped it into pieces), apple, scallions and sauce. Heat it up and let it simmer a bit before you take it off the stove.

Very nicely done by Michelle, we also tried adding dumplings but we failed at frying and boiling them so we just skipped them all together.

If you want to see more of these I would gladly oblige! They are really fun to make… and eat. I can even do some recipe posts about food we have eaten before!

Thank you all for reading and enjoying my blog, it really motivates me to keep it active. Changing to wordpress was the best choice for me!

Leave a Reply

